Skip to content

$1000 and 20 days

September 18, 2009

If someone gave you $1000 in cash and told you you have 20 days to turn a profit, where would you start?

In stumbling through the internet looking for an explanation of Richard Kiyosaki‘s “E-quadrant”, I cam across just such a proposition from Mr. Kiyosaki and 20/20’s to three “would-be entrepreneurs.”

And before I read the article, I paused to think myself: what would I do if I had $1000 and 20 days?

The first thought that came to mind was something with sewing, which is something that I am relatively good at and I know that hand-made items have seen a resurgence in popularity in the last few years.

I could make skirts, or purses, or yoga pants, or… well, the possibilities are pretty endless in simple things I could make, if there were a market for it.

So the first step would be to figure out what to make that would be the most salable. I think I would chose skirts. I have always liked making skirts (I have about twenty that I’ve made for myself, which proves that point) and I have eclectic ideas for them.

The next step would be to figure out where to sell my skirts. Living in a large town that thinks it’s a small city, the art scene here is pretty well supported, so there are a lot of little boutiques that might be willing to put products on their shelves on consignment. Etsy is also an option, and probably the more lucrative one than a local store, assuming a good camera, because (theoretically) more eyeballs will see my stuff.

Another option might be to bake and sell baked goods either on the street or in local office buildings. If it was close to the Holiday Season, you could sell Christmas goodies to people who want to give them to their friends but don’t have time to bake them themselves. Things like banana bread, or sugar cookies, or whatever. It wouldn’t be too difficult to come up with a short list of options, with the possibility of taking requests or altering recipes to accommodate allergies.

The problem for the baked goods would be a) a place to make them, and b) a way to market them. I think the latter would be easily solved with a few calls to local corporations, especially small businesses who might want to do something special for their A-list clients. I have an intuition that corporations headed up by women might be more receptive to such an idea, but that may just be my own gender asserting itself.

Along the same lines of food and holidays, I wonder if it wouldn’t be a marketable idea to offer to come into people’s homes and cook them a “traditional” Thanksgiving dinner (or Christmas, or whatever) so that when their guests arrive, the house smells appropriately homey, but the didn’t have to do any of the hard work.

Or to have a holiday-specific cleaning and decorating company, that comes in during the holidays to clean and decorate the houses of busy professionals who want to host parties but don’t have time to get down to the nitty-gritty of cleaning and decorating that most people want to do before they open their houses to friends and co-workers.

Maybe I should sell my ideas to people. I seem to have more than I will ever be able to implement my own self. *laughs* It’s like ideas for sewing projects. If I could sell all of my ideas for sewing projects, I’d be a wealthy woman.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda Pingel permalink
    October 1, 2009 11:18 am

    I’m actually thinking of making a website where people who have business ideas can sell them to people who have money to start businesses….

  2. January 21, 2010 2:19 pm

    Maybe you should write for a living….?

    • January 21, 2010 2:26 pm

      That’s not a bad thought, because clearly I like to do it.

      Just gotta figure out what to write about. 😀

Leave a Reply

