Skip to content

If I could decide where to start…

December 12, 2009
tags:

Yesterday evening I posted on “things that I would do if I could decide where to start…”

Well, what follows is the list of those things, in no particular order.

– Re-learn Spanish
– Brush up on my German and Japanese
– Learn Gaelic
– Learn piano
– Sew all of the garments in my Planned Projects box
– Repair / finish all the garments in my Un-finished Projects box
– Finish my Career Journal
– Finish my Pathfinder Journal
– Learn CSS
– Start a business where I help people create workable budgets
– Start a business where I help people get organized
– Work long-distance for my mom
– Write a book
– Write a screen play
– Get a degree in Linguistics
– Get a degree in Engineering
– Learn architectural design
– Learn to be a paralegal
– Try work as an accountant
– Work as a set dresser for a major movie
– Learn to play the flute
– Make my Golden Rectangle Fibonacci quilt
– Finally sew a button up, collared shirt that was long enough for me
– Go through Marketing for Nice People for my mom (since she was kind enough to pay for it)
– Finish making Christmas presents for my family

I’m sure that there are others, if I thought about it longer, but that’s what came to the top of my head over about… three minutes.

Why don’t I do these things? Well, I get home from work, and then there’s food to be eaten, and I’m tired and it’s just as easy to turn on the TV as it is to do anything else, or to curl up with a good book….

It’s easier to plan to do them, and to think about doing them, than it is to actually do them.

But as an insightful blogger, Chris Hoehn, wrote just the other day a post about career choices and how it’s important to just DO things.

In his words, “…therein lies the best career advice I could possibly dispense: just DO things. Chase after the things that interest you and make you happy.”

So as I said yesterday, I am going to Just Do the things on my list up there. By this time next week, I will have finished the two blankets I’m making for my dad and his girlfriend, and I will have spent an hour every night on Marketing for Nice People for my mom.

Saturday, December 19, 2009. See you there.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda Pingel permalink
    December 13, 2009 11:24 am

    What’s worked for me: (It depends on your schedule, though)

    I get up in the morning, and do my creative stuff between breakfast & work: writing, design, brainstorming, and studying all happen in the morning.

    Then work.

    After-work time is for chores. Laundry, dishes, sewing (the mending-type stuff, not the design-type stuff), easy reading, etc. That way I don’t have to try to engage my brain after work.

    It does rely, however, on having an average of as much time before work as after.

    • December 13, 2009 4:08 pm

      The only problem with that scenario for me is that I work at 9 am every morning and because of where I live, I have to be out the door at 8:10 am. And the only time I get to see my Husband, when I get to see him, is in the evening. So I go to bed at midnight, get up at 7 am, and have enough time in the morning to get breakfast and read for a minute and then I’m out the door.

      Yes, I could go to bed earlier and wake up earlier, but that hasn’t worked yet.

Leave a Reply

