Skip to content

Books I got from the library today

December 28, 2009

While I was at Barnes and Noble the other day, looking for a Christmas present for my husband, I found myself in the jobs and careers section. Again. Or better said, As usual.

And I wrote down a long list of books that I need to see if I can find at my local library. I only buy books I know I will want to read or reference again. Or share with people.

In any case, when I was at the library, I picked up:

50 Best Jobs for Your Personality
150 Best Jobs for Your Skills
Top Careers for Liberal Arts Graduates
Great Jobs for Liberals Arts Majors
What’s That Job and How the Hell Do I Get It?

… Is anyone else sensing a theme here? I found out from my boss today that my hours are being cut back at work, so I’ve thrown myself into really figuring out what sort of career I want to pursue. At the moment I just need to suppliment

Thus far I’ve narrowed it down to:

– Office job.
– I don’t mind working for someone else, but I’d prefer to work for a woman rather than a man.
– Salaried.
– At least 40 hours a week.
– I’d like to make $60,000 a year, to start.

At the moment I’m leaning toward advertising or marketing, but I’m not sure how to get my foot in the door. We’ll see what happens, but right now I at least have a type of job, if not a specific field.

I’m starting with 50 Jobs for Your Personality Type. We’ll see where that leads me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

