Skip to content

On Reading “50 Best Jobs For Your Personality” – Part 2

December 29, 2009

So, I was disappointed by the results of the personality test, and felt that it didn’t actually fit my personality.

Instead of going to bed, which is what I should be doing right now, I went back through the test and made a check by everything that seemed interesting to me, no matter what, and not over-thinking it. I didn’t even considering marking anything maybe, I just marked the definite yesses.

The verdict THIS time?

1) Artistic (17 of 30)
2) Tied Investigative/Enterprising (13 each of 30)
3) Conventional (12 of 30)

The jobs that fit that set of personality types?

Architects (AI)
Technical Writers (AIC)
Writers and Authors (AEI)
Producers and Directors (EAC) — not quite a good fit, but an interesting thought
Interior Designers (AE)
Editors (AEC)
Advertising and Promotion Managers (EAC)
Film and Video Editors (AEI)
Anthropologists and Archeologists (IA)

I have some issue with the way the personality test works, however.

The way the test works is that you evaluate 180 activities, 30 for each of the 6 personality types, with a “Like,” “Unsure,” or a “Dislike” answer. Some of the activities are things like “Manage a retail store” or “Teach children how to read,” and you’re supposed to go through and decide, without concern for skills needed or pay earned, what you might like or dislike from the lists.

Many of the questions for the “Social” personality type were things like “Perform nursing duties in a hospital” or “Work with mentally disabled children.” Now, if I had to guess why they used the descriptors they used for the different personality types, I would say that those descriptors fit jobs that people who have those personality types usually end up doing. But then I look at the jobs for the social personality type, and there are things like “Philosophy Professor,” which has little to do with disabled people or nursing. My explanation probably makes more sense if you’re looking at the book.

And many of the activities are things that think I would dislike doing. Or at the very least, and less drawn to, but I consider myself a social person, in that I like talking to people, and helping people solve their problems. I’m just not sure the way the personality test is designed fits well with my … learning style, I suppose. Or my thought processes. Or something.

So, perhaps the books is not as useful as I had hoped, but it’s given me some definite food for thought, and that’s never a bad thing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

