Skip to content

I Am a Flake

January 2, 2010

There, I’ve said it. Some people call it being a Scanner, some people call it being a Flake, but whatever you want to call it, that’s what I am.

Sonia Simone, of Remarkable Communication . com writes in her post “The Complete Flake’s Guide to Getting Things Done”:

Are you smart and motivated and passionate, and have lots of cool things you’d like to get done, but somehow when it comes to doing them, you just . . . don’t?

Are you great at ideas but lousy at execution? Talk a good game but don’t get any results? Spend a lot of time thinking about where you want to go, but not much time actually moving your ass down the road that would take you there?

See? *points above and then gestures to herself* Flake. Case in point, I have a to do list as long as my arm of all the projects I want to get done… in my sewing room, around the house, to organize my life, to start a business… and I haven’t done them. I even have a journal (a Scanner’s Day Book Barbara Sher calls it) in which I write down all my great ideas. But even after having written them down, I still want to do them, which is nice to have them all in one place but still…

So, Sonia proposes a Plan for getting things done, even if you’re a flake, and it was so awesome and interesting that I decided it to pull it over and put it in my own blog, so I’d always know where it was. I also took the “Pivotal Technique,” which she says she got from Robert Fritz’s The Path of Least Resistance (now on my Shelfari shelf) and wrote it on the wall above my desk.

The Plan in 7 Reasonably Painless Steps

1) When you’ve got something to do, figure out what you really want to get out of it.
2) Do the pivotal technique. Think about what you want, then get clear about where you are right this minute. Notice the difference.
3) Figure out the next action.
4) Do what you feel like.
5) Rinse, lather, repeat.
6) Start a compost pile for ideas, notes, plans and insights.
7) Stick to three or four primary areas of focus.

It’s distinctly possible that you will see this pop up in this blog several times over the next couple months while I figure out what I want to do next and how I’m going to get there.

Leave a Reply

