Skip to content

Unofficially Unemployed

January 11, 2010

Like many of you, I too thought that unemployment was a definite state. Black and white. You are either employed, or you’re not. No grey area. Like being pregnant. Apparently, I was wrong.

My situation: I am no longer getting paid by my boss, nor am I coming into the office, but he has not let me go. He is hoping that he will get very busy in the next two months and then will be ready to have me come back on board. Part-time, full-time… we’ll see when the day arrives. Between now and then, I am “on call.”

Like I said… unofficially unemployed. The effect, however, is the same as actually being unemployed, as you might imagine. So, now I need to figure out what to do for income. This prospect, of course, is made somewhat more difficult by the global economic recession (and the fact that I live in a State with one of the highest unemployment rates in the US of A). That’s not to say that there aren’t jobs out there. That’s not to say that I couldn’t get one if I searched and called around and made use of the not-inconsiderably resources at my disposal. I am, I have been told, a very employable person (no, I’m not exactly sure what that means either). However, while there are jobs out there, they are few and far between. And many of them require technical mastery or specific training that I do not possess.

So, what are my options?

1) Well, I can see if there’s anything in the food industry. There almost always is something, and I’ve done it before. I even enjoyed it, somewhat.

2) I can see if there’s anything in retail. I’ve done that even longer than I’ve worked in the food industry.

3) I can throw caution (and a healthy amount of fear) to the wind, and try to start my own small business.

Because I’ve thought about it. And while it sucks that I don’t have a guaranteed source of income at the moment, I do have a husband who is gainfully employed, and I have a little bit of a buffer, time- and money-wise, before things get really tight. So, perhaps this situation, as hairy as it may seem, is the universe telling me, “Hey, wake up! You want to be self-employed, you want to have your own business, well, what are you waiting for? Your fears are nothing. Do you want to eat next month or not?” I mean, talk about a kick in the pants.

And, thanks to some lovely new friends (*waves to Megan the M.*), I even have some tools at my disposal that will make it that much easier to get started. Because of all the reading and self-exploration I’ve been doing over the last several months (some of which I’ve documented in this blog), I’ve got some means of orientation as I look at the big, scary world out there think, ‘Holy crap, what am I doing?!’

I know that this is a crazy prospect. I know it is insanity to think that I can make ends meet with an entrepreneurial pursuit the IDEA for which may not even exist yet, especially quickly. But I’ll never know until I try, and as someone told me recently, crazy and stupid are my friends, and I should get to know them well. So here goes.

Leave a Reply

