Skip to content

Working as a VA

January 12, 2010

I wrote yesterday about my thoughts on whether or not to become a Virtual Assistant (VA), and described some of the fears that I have about the idea.

Well, I was doing more research today, and I found myself getting overwhelmed by the thought of all the stuff I would have to do as someone’s assistant, and trying to compare that to what I had done in the past, and whether or not I was even qualified for such a position. I was looking, too, at what it costs to go through the classes at AssistU (which sound like they’d be really great), and what sort of set-up I need to have to be a Virtual Assistant (dedicated land-line, no cell phones, among other things), and I decided that it was too scary and not a good fit and I didn’t really want to do it anyway.

Well, the catch in the “not doing it anyway” plan is, after finding out about it yesterday, I called my mom and my step-dad, Thomas, and I left them a message telling them all about VAs and how I wanted to do that for them because I know that they could really benefit from it.

I also wanted to talk to her because I had some fears and some questions and she’s really good at listening and helping me figure out how to solve whatever problem it is I’m facing. I wanted to run my thoughts and fears and concerns about working as a VA by her, to see what she thought.

But instead of talking to her, I just got to leave her a message. Not uncommonly, she wasn’t able to get back to me yesterday.

So today, I got myself all convinced that working as a VA was NOT something I wanted to pursue, and I was trying to figure out which direction to head next, when my mom called. And she said, “I’ve been wanting to call you back, but there just hasn’t been time. I have so many things I want to talk to you about, can I call you in half an hour when I’m home?”

I didn’t tell her that I had decided maybe I didn’t want to work as a VA anymore, I just said “sure,” and we got off the phone.

So when she called back, I told her all about my research and what a VA actually is, and what they do, and then I told her how I didn’t think it would be a good fit for me, and all my other angsty stuff. I told her where to find the VA FAQ on the AssistU website, and she and Thomas looked through the questions and answers for a little while, while I walked them through my thought processes on why I wasn’t sure it was good for me.

After they had listened to me waffle for a while, they stopped me and said, “Megan, listen. You’re being RIDICULOUS.” They then spent the next forty-five minutes telling me that they thought I was crazy and that this “VA Thing” sounded like a PERFECT fit, and how they would LOVE to be my guinea pig business because they could really use my help in their businesses.

I love them. Thomas is so wonderfully supportive and my mom is just fantastic. She’s the most amazing woman in the world, and possibly the best mom EVER.

So, that’s what I’m going to do. After several years of thinking and planning and waffling about which direction to go next, I know what I’m going to do next. I’m going to work as a VA for my mom and step-dad, and we’re going to figure out how to make it work to the benefit of all of us. I’m so excited!!

As soon as we got off the phone, I sent them an email with the questions I need to have answered so we can figure out how I can best help them do what they do better.

Because that’s what I want to do in this world. I want to help people do what they love to do better than they could do it by themselves.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2010 1:26 am

    Haha, although I don’t really know you, I’m still proud of you.

    I’m also excited to hear if this works for you as a carreer, once the initial enthusiasm wears off. If it does wear off, that is. 🙂 Anyway, it’s great that you seem to have found something you’re passionate about.

  2. January 13, 2010 9:45 am

    Thanks, Jan. I appreciate your comments and your support, even though we just met. 😀

    I’ll definitely let you know how it goes.

Trackbacks

  1. Am I ready to have my own business? « Megan Must Muse

Leave a Reply

