Skip to content

My 8 month goal, and a plan

January 13, 2010

For a variety of reasons, I want to be living in Colorado. Ben and I had originally planned to move out there in August of 2009, but the economy tanked and then I got a really awesome (sounding) job offer with a two year commitment. So, our plans changed, as they are wont to do, and our move date because August of 2011.

But then my job situation changed. So now, if we can get the pieces to fall into place, we could move out to Colorado this year (August 2010).

The pieces

– If Ben’s company will transfer him (which they should be able to do)…
– If I can find a source of income that replaces at least half of my full-time income from my job…
– If we can save $4000 (we have $1000 saved at the moment) between now and then…

If we can do those things, then we will be able to move to Colorado.

My goal:

– Find a source (or sources) of income that will generate at least $800 a month.
– Find a way to create an additional $3000 in income on top of that $800 a month.

My plan

I am going to get up and be “at work” at my desk (in real clothes, ready to work) at 9 am every day. I am going to work from 9 am to 5 pm (as if I were working a “real” job) to accomplish the following:

– Work as a VA for my mom, during which time she will help me figure out the logistics of being a VA, so that I can possibly market myself to others as well (as much as I would love to take the course offered at AssistU, it’s not in the cards at the moment).
– Look for odd jobs around town that people might need me to do (I know several people who often have jobs like this available).
– Figure out if there’s some sort of ittybiz that I can put together that will help generate some of that income.
– Figure out if there’s a market for my simple budget spreadsheet that I’ve but together, either in the form of an ebook or a consulting situation.

I know that an ittybiz or anything else is not a “get rich quick” scheme. I know that working from home and building a business takes a lot of time and effort. I know that it is a long shot that I will even be able to pull this off. But crazier things have happened. I have a lot of skill and talent and force of will, and I know that if I apply myself, I can pull this off. I’m not entirely sure how, at the moment, but it has to be possible.

One day at a time. Here I go.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

