Skip to content

The need for a firm foundation

January 16, 2010

I did the math yesterday and if I am going to move out to Colorado and continue to pay down debt at the rate we have been, I need to earn $1500 a month, starting immediately.

$1,500 a month is …

    $375 a week

    $75 a day (assuming a 5-day week)

    $10 an hour (assuming an 8-hour day)

$10 an hour is not hard to accomplish, however, my business ideas are fledgling at best, and while they may someday (soon) generate the income required to accomplish my goals, to expect them to do so immediately is unrealistic, somewhat overly-ambitious, and and not a little naive. That’s not to say it can’t be done, it’s just to say that I may not be equipt to do it at this time.

So, I spent a good part of the evening last night engaged in two tasks:

1) Brainstorming 111 things that I could possibly do to generate income with my current skills, aptitudes, and passions with the help of my cousin and her significant other (it was so much fun!), and

2) Applying for jobs around town.

It feels a little bit like I’m giving up to apply for local jobs, because I was so hoping to be able to come up with something crazy and awesome that would make me… well, not a million dollars, but at least $75 a day.

But it’s not giving up; it’s being realistic. And I will continue to pursue my side projects and plans to generate income without working for someone else. I know that it takes time to develop good product, and I’m willing to invest that time. I also know that I’ll be much better able to invest that time if I’m not worried about whether or not we’re going to be able to eat next month, and whether or not my pursuit of entrepreneurial income streams is going to impede my ability to move to Colorado, which I want to do almost as much as I want to take my next breath.

There are many people in the world for whom dire circumstances and / or the threat of impending doom are just the right motivators to get them to where they want to be, but for me, I like a bit more of a firm foundation as I reach for the stars. It may mean that I don’t get there as quickly, but rest assured, I will get there.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

