Skip to content

Saw Up In The Air today…

January 19, 2010

It’s probably the best movie I’ve seen this year (meaning “the last twelve months” not “since January 1st”). While this is normally a subject I’d keep to my movie blog, Up In The Air [trailer] is especially pertinent to my current situation (being unemployed and reconsidering my options) and just very thought-provoking in general. I highly recommend it.

But beyond that, as my husband and I were watching the credits, something really cool happened:

We always sit and watch the entirety of the credits. I’m not sure why, we just do. After the first credit track played, there was a pause and then the faint white noise of a tape recording starting. Into the quiet, a voice spoke and said, “Hey Jason. I recently lost my job and I wrote this song about uncertainty and indecision. I was just thinking maybe you could use it in your movie. It’s called ‘Up in the Air’.” And then an acoustic guitar starts up, and this thoughtful, sort-of unpolished (but not in a bad way) song starts.

And the whole time we’re listening to the song, and watching the credit rolls, I can’t help but think, “What kind of guts does it take to send a song you wrote to a director on the off-chance he might like it enough to use it in his film?” The awesomeness of it just hit me like a hammer. And the really amazing thing? Jason Reitman did use it.

All the way home, I couldn’t help but be bowled over by the courage that it took to do something so personal and how he found out about the movie, and what a coincidence it was that the finished song was titled the same as the movie. It just all amazes me, how it can go so right if you’re just willing to try.

And this guy, Kevin Renick, has been on local news stations, and performed before live audiences, and is working with a friend to put together a CD. All because he had something he loved to do, and he dared to do it, and to send it off into the world to see what would come of it.

What an inspiration. People are so cool.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

