Skip to content

Eureka! I Know What I Want to Do

January 21, 2010

I’ve been reading all of these books and blog posts taking these online classes about becoming an entrepreneur and turning what you really love to do into a way to make income, either on the side or exclusively.

And while the books are thought-provoking, and the blog posts are interesting and exciting, and the classes are full of useful information and I’m learning a lot, I’ve had this hang-up through the entire process.

I’ve been absorbing all of this information and the whole time I’ve been thinking, ‘But this doesn’t necessarily apply to me. I don’t have something I’m passionate about that I’ve always wanted to turn into a business.’

Which is not a little depressing, but also completely untrue.

On every list I’ve ever written of things that I’m passionate about or excited about or whatever, I’ve written the words, “I like to help people solve problems.” It’s usually closer to the bottom of the list, because somewhere in the back of my mind, I have this little inner voice that says, “You can’t do that for a living, it’s too vague! You’re too young, no one would take you seriously! Other people are already doing that, and they’re probably much better at it that you are! How can you solve other people’s problems when you have trouble finding solutions to your own?”

Stupid voice.

But never mind the voice, because those are just my fears. And the fact that they are loudest when I think about how awesome it would be to be able to make a living by helping people and solving problems indicates to me that that’s really the path I should follow.

And I’ve still got questions:

    How do I get myself out there?
    Is “solving problems” really too vague for a business idea?
    Who can I talk to about how to get started?
    What should I call my services?

And so on.

Hopefully, with the ever growing number of resources at my disposal (Seth Godin’s books, the Idea Catalyst Kit, Summer Camp, Career Renegade, IttyBiz.com, etc.), I will be able to figure it out. It’s a little daunting, and a lot scary, but I know it’s possible.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Julia permalink
    January 21, 2010 5:31 pm

    On the one hand, being vague is good because it leaves you with a lot of options.

    On the other hand, being vague is bad because it leaves you with a lot of options.

    Would it help to write down the types of problems you have helped people work through in the past? Then write a list of problems you would be able too help out with but haven’t yet. And finally, a list of problems that just wouldn’t work well with you? (not ones you can’t do, just ones you just wouldn’t want to deal with for ethical, moral, psychological, or time constraints).

    I’d then look at these lists and see what they have in common and go from there.

    • January 22, 2010 10:25 am

      That’s a great thought, Julia, thanks!!

      And just my luck, I’ve got really big newsprint and crayola markers with which to do my list-making. All planning is better with big paper and fun markers. 😀

Leave a Reply

