Skip to content

The School of Seth

January 22, 2010

Charles Gilkey of Productive Flourishing wrote a guest post on Itty Biz, at some point. The post was titled “Skip School and Learn What You Need to Know Instead” and was probably written a year or so ago, but I only found it a few days ago.

It has been my experience that, if you open yourself up to what’s out there, and let the Universe know you’re looking, what you’re looking for comes across your path, more often than not.

Case in point, just the other day I was despairing that I didn’t know enough to start my own business, and I was worried that I would have to go back to school and get an MBA or something, which, considering recently developments, I really don’t know how I would afford.

But Gilkey says it’s not necessary to go back to school to be successful. He recommends instead that you read and absorb the information provided in the books of Seth Godin. He says if you read a Seth Godin book a week, and do the homework he suggests (see the post for details)

So, since I can’t go back to school right now, but I can go to the library, I am going to follow his advice.

The books, in the order he thinks that they should be read:

    Week 1 – Purple Cow: Transform Your Business by Being Remarkable
    Week 2 – The Dip: A Little Book That Teaches You When to Quit (and When to Stick)
    Week 3 – Unleashing the Ideavirus
    Week 4 – Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us
    Week 5 – Small Is the New Big

So, as soon as I finish Career Renegade: How to Make a Great Living Doing What You Love (should be this weekend), and since my requested copy of Escape from Cubicle Nation hasn’t come in at the library yet, I’m going to start on the School of Seth, and read and absorb one of the above books a week.

Monday, I start on Purple Cow. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

