Skip to content

Update to “Brain = tired”

January 27, 2010

I posted the other day that most of my “fun” activities are things that require me to think in the same way that I think when I’m working.

This is a problem because it means I run the risk of burning out, and because it means I don’t have a lot of time to process all the things I’m thinking about.

I was talking to my mom about this, and she recommended gardening.

This is a brilliant idea, with the small snag that it’s winter where I am, and therefore COLD. Also I don’t own my property, and my landlord frowns on that sort of thing. Thinks it’ll “ruin the aesthetic appeal” or something.

But there’s indoor gardening, which almost as much fun, so that’s definitely something to look into.

I’m trying to think of what else I can do, hobby wise, to give my brain time to process and recoup.

There’s jogging / running (I’ve been working on this one for a while, not quite up to “running” yet, but we’ll see how it goes)
There’s video games
There’s art

When I was in college, I was always really thankful that my work-study job was to work in the theatre scene shop, which required a different type of thinking than what I was doing in my classes…

Food for thought.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2010 4:46 pm

    If you are crafty at all I’d highly recommend knitting. It’s very Zen and if you get good at it you end up with cool stuff you can use.

    • January 27, 2010 4:58 pm

      Ooh, that’s an idea! Awesome.

      And it reminded me of something I didn’t even add to the list, and should have: Sewing!

      I already do sew, when I remember to, and really enjoy it. Thanks!!

      I just have to, you know, do it. 😀

Leave a Reply

