Skip to content

I’ll help, it’ll go faster that way…

February 3, 2010
tags:

Last night, my husband said something that really struck a chord with me, and pretty much sums up our relationship. He said, “I’ll help you, it’ll go faster that way.”

What was I doing? Rushing across the house to get to the laundry room where I had still-damp items hanging out in the dryer from three hours ago, when I put them on wrinkle-release so I could hang up my pants that “can’t” be dried.

Why it struck a chord? Because not seven hours before that, I had refused to help him do a chore I know he dislikes (folding laundry) because I was “busy.” And I was busy, I was right in the middle of something. But does that mean that I couldn’t have stopped what I was doing for 10 minutes to help him, so that he could get it done faster? No, probably not. Nothing I was doing was that pressing.

And this is something that we have come to many times. Neither of us particularly likes… making lunch, for example. Or figuring out what’s for dinner. Or picking up the house. Or folding the laundry. And we both want the other person to do it, so we don’t have to. But if we both do it, together, not only does it go that much faster, but it also gives us more time together, which we get more of now that I’m “working from home” (read: recently laid off and trying to make this online-business-helping-people thing work out), but he still works 45 – 50 hours a week, so we try to make the most of the time we do spend together.

So the next time I’m tempted to ask him to do something for me, I’m going to remember (hopefully) that it’s easier and faster if we do it together, with the bonus of us getting to spend time together. And since I like him a lot (that’s why I married him), I figure spending time together is never a bad thing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

