Skip to content

The Purse Project: How I lost 3 days and what I have to show for it…

March 8, 2010

I am going on a trip in about a week, and thinking ahead, as I do, I was thinking about what I needed to pack, and I what I had available to pack it in.

I long-ago found a suitcase that I adore, so that piece was covered, but I didn’t want to take my old college backpack with my purse just shoved inside it (rather inconveniently) once again.

What I really needed was a new purse, one that I could take on trips with me, that would fit all of my travel stuff (laptop, iPod, water bottle, snacks, book, etc. AND that would have a smaller purse inside it that I could remove and take with me when I got to my destination.

Hence, the purse project was born.

I came up with the concrete idea for this bag on Thursday. I was up far later than I should have been drawing out a plan of attack.

The idea:

    Part 1: A big purse (14″ tall, 12″ wide, 5″ deep) that would hold all of the above-mentioned items (laptop, iPod, blah, blah…);
    Part 2: A small purse that would somehow attach to the inside of the big purse;
    Part 3: A custom bag to fit my computer, mouse, and power cable that would fit inside the big bag when I travel.

Friday morning I scoured my not-inconsiderable stash of fabric for pieces that would make a nice-looking purse. I then pawed through the notions (for those of you who don’t know the lingo, that means zippers, thread and such) that I had to see what I would need to buy. I started with working on the computer bag, because was going to be the easiest and I didn’t need anything for it that I didn’t have, but I then had to put the project on hold for the rest of the day to do some real work.

So, Saturday, I got up bright and early, went to the fabric store, and got to work. I spent all day Saturday, yesterday, and today, sewing. And occasionally ripping out what I had sewed, which is all part of the process. Nothing that I am doing is outside my capabilities as a seamstress, but the project is much more complicated than any I have embarked on previously, and I have no pattern. Oh yeah, most of the time on Saturday was spent cutting out pattern pieces, and preparing to sew. It wasn’t really until late Saturday evening that I started sewing at all, actually.

And now, the first 1/3 of the project is done! I have finished the small purse, and it actually looks pretty cool. Woo hoo! It doesn’t have a strap yet, because I’m not 100% sure if the strap is going to be the same length for the big purse as it is for the small, so I have to wait until the big purse is finished before I finish the strap, but STILL. 1/3 done, and still excited about it. This is a very good thing.

The Purse Project (thus far):

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about "Purse Project", posted with vodpod

And now! I sew.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 3:05 pm

    Cool! I like it muchly!

Leave a Reply

