Skip to content

Idea: TV volume equalizer

March 10, 2010

It has always bothered me that the volume is louder on, say, commercials, than it is for the regular TV.

When I was growing up, we used to mute the commercials, but I’m learning about marketing right now, and am therefore fascinated by them. So, if I want to not go deaf, I have to perpetually turn down the volume when the commercials come on. This is very frustrating.

Similarly, during many movies, and in many TV shows, the music or action is MUCH louder than the dialogue. So, if I want to hear what the CSI’s are whispering about as they crawl through the seemingly abandoned building, I need to turn the volume way up. But as soon as they find out that the building is not, in fact, abandoned, and start shooting and chasing and the music swells… I have to turn the volume back down, or risk bleeding from the ears.

If I’m trying to watch a show late at night when my husband’s already in bed, it’s even worse.

But all my whinging aside, here’s my idea: someone should invent a volume equalizer.

It would be a small device that you could plug into your TV, perhaps between the audio input cables and the TV, that would allow you to set a max volume for your TV, or a volume range. Something that would help keep the whispers audible, and the explosions from being deafening. This is often done with CDs, so that you don’t risk blowing out someone’s car/stereo speakers at the crescendo, but they can still hear the pianissimo.

If TV companies were really smart, they’d incorporate that kind of technology into the actual TV, so no one would have to get an after-market device, and everyone’s ears would be much happier.

And yes, I know that if you have a surround sound system, that mitigates the volume control issues to a certain extent, but ONLY to a certain extent. It would be nice if we didn’t have to worry about it at all.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rikki permalink
    March 10, 2010 12:14 pm

    Some tvs have the commercial volume control thing built in, but I wish it would do the whisper thing. I had a hell of a time watching Farscape.

Leave a Reply

