Skip to content

Writing for other people is hard

March 15, 2010

I write this blog because it’s fun. I like to share my thoughts and ideas and see who thinks they’re interesting.

Of course, it’s not always easy for me to figure out how to express what I’m trying to say, but college taught me a lot about the technicalities of writing, and my years of doing the informal blogging thing have given me a pretty good sense of my voice. Anymore, writing a “good” blog post is usually just a matter of having an idea, sitting down at the computer and hammering out my thoughts until they most closely resemble something interesting and useful. Every so often I have to resort to the old pen and paper to get things flowing properly, but such is the nature of writing.

But recently, in doing the work that I’ve been doing with Megan M, she’s called upon me several times to write things for her. And as soon as I sit down to write anything, all of a sudden I’m a bumbling high-school freshman again with no clue how to format the simplest 5-paragraph essay.

It is infinitely frustrating.

I’ve tried writing what she’s looking for as if I were writing it for my blog (just as a place to start), and I’ve tried outlining to organize my thoughts, and I’ve tried pen and paper. Nothing that I put together is interesting, useful or even usable.

The hurdle is the fact that I’m doing it for her, for her audience, for her business… whatever, and I’m worried that I’ll somehow do it wrong. And I’m not sure what to do about that.

On the one hand, I know it’s a stupid worry (fear?). On the other hand, knowing that doesn’t help me figure out how to stop worrying.

I think the only solution is just to keep doing it. Not just for Megan, but for anyone. Keep writing for others until I’m as comfortable doing it for them as I am doing it for myself.

I have no idea how long that will take, but I know it’s a worth-while endeavor, because this current state of… writers block? that I’m in is NOT cool with me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

