Skip to content

An Exercise in Will Power: Day 1

March 31, 2010

For the next seven days I’m engaging in what I’m calling “An Exercise in Will Power” (obviously).

The Plan:

I will be getting up every morning at 7:00 am sharp, when my alarm goes off the first time, no snoozing.

For the first half hour of each day, I will drink coffee and eat breakfast (and apparently write a blog post), waking up in the process.

From 7:30 am to 9:30 am I will focusing on making progress on one of two projects for myself.

These projects (there are at least six that I could choose from) aren’t making me any money (yet), which is why I haven’t been working on them as much as I would have liked since I started working as my mom’s VA and working with Megan M. When I was talking (complaining, really) to my mom last night about how I’m really enjoying the work I was doing, but I’m a little frustrated because I’m not making much, if any, progress on some long-standing, long-term projects that I had going. I was telling her about how there never seems to be enough time because my first priority, at the moment, is to make enough money… which was causing me to be more short-sighted that I want to be. And she said,

“Megan, what time are you getting up in the morning?”

“…too late,” I replied.

“And what time are you going to bed at night?”

“…too late,” I replied again.

She laughed and asked, “What did Benjamin Franklin say?”

“Early to bed and early to rise makes a man healthy, wealthy, and wise.” I replied, petulant, an inkling of dread about where this was going.

“Right! So here’s what I propose….”

How it’s going:

I normally go to bed around midnight or 1 am, which means I’m usually not up until 9 am the next morning. I want to wake up at 8 am, but I just never seem to get there. Sometimes I don’t want up until 10, and on those days, I really feel like a bum.

Last night, because I’m still in my old cycles, I couldn’t fall asleep right away, despite the fact that I was in bed by 11:45. I tossed and turned a little, and once I fell asleep I sort of hovered on the surface of sleep, knowing that I was going to get up when my alarm went of at 7 the next morning, and worrying that if I slept too deeply, I would sleep through my alarm or something.

I had an odd dream around 6 (I think) where an old friend (who looked an awful lot like Jonah Hill) was planning to open a plant shop in an old part of Denver, CO, and invited me to come to check it out before he opened. Dreams are really weird.

Long story short, I did it. On this first day of the plan, I did it. My alarm went off at 7 am, and I turned it off, swung my legs out of bed, and wandered into the kitchen to start the coffee.

And the funny thing is that I don’t even feel as tired as I was expecting to. I mean, it’s still early, so we’ll see how the day goes, but I was thinking I’d be dragging my sorry ass out of bed, protesting violently the whole way. What actually happened is that I woke up at 6:30, and again at 6:45, and was really excited because it wasn’t quite time, and I could close my eyes for a few minutes longer. Self-snoozing, I guess I’ll call it. ^_^

I’ll check in tomorrow and let you know how much progress I made today and how day two went. I think this is going to be a good thing.

Leave a Reply

