Skip to content

An Exercise in Will Power: Day 3

April 2, 2010

If you’re just finding this today, this is what I’m doing, and this is how it went yesterday.

This morning only counts as a partial success. Did I manage to wake up at 7 am and get out of bed without the alarm clock ringing more than once? Yes. Did I manage to not read Ender’s Game before falling asleep. No.

Like I said, partial success.

I don’t know, however, if it was the reading, or just my brain, but I didn’t manage to fall asleep until just after 1 am because I couldn’t get my brain to shut off. I wrote down all of my thoughts, so at least the time was “productive,” so to speak, but it was still frustrating. And of course, having managed to get less that six hours of sleep the last three nights, this morning I am exhausted. There may be a short nap in my future.

Still, the experiment as a whole has been a rousing success (heh), because I really am enjoying being up earlier in the day, and getting things done. It’s very cool.

I’m not sure how I’ll feel at the end of the seven days, but right now I’m thinking that I would like to continue this project.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2010 11:28 am

    Nifty. FYI, just consider that being awake when the sun is down is a VERY new thing for the human race. As long as you get enough sleep each 24-hour period, you can and will be just fine (although you WILL get tired by 8-9pm if you get up at 4). Most people can expect to be able to change their daily schedule by an hour or so per day, so don’t expect to get up at 7am or 4am after sleeping until noon for a month. If your social life is from 10pm-1am then you might have personal issues with it, but it is possible to go to bed at 7pm and wake up at 4am well rested. Also, 3-4 meals a day helps a lot with sleeping less than 10 hours a day.

Trackbacks

  1. Exercise in Will Power: Day 4 (6?) « Megan Must Muse
  2. An Exercise in Will Power: Day 5 « Megan Must Muse
  3. An Exercise in Will Power: Day 6 « Megan Must Muse

Leave a Reply

