Skip to content

An Exercise in Will Power: Day 6

April 7, 2010

One more day to go and then I will no longer “have” to get up at 7 am. However, I think I’m going to keep going for a total of thirty days and see if I can really make it a habit. I’m not going to keep blogging about it though (it can be hard to come up with brilliant insights at 7 in the morning).

My husband, who’d been gone on a trip for the last five days, came home last night, but was going to get home after I fell asleep. As a consequence of knowing this, I didn’t sleep very well, and I distinctly remember him coming in to tell me he was home, as well as when he came to bed several hours later. When I my alarm went off, I hit it and did not immediately get out of bed. Shame on me.

I was talking to my cousin last night, and was telling her a bit more about my insights that will power spreads out to affect other areas of your life if you’re consistently utilizing it in one. She commented that she would love to get up earlier in the morning, which struck me as odd because I had always thought that she got up much earlier than I. It just brings home the idea that you really shouldn’t ever judge your insides by someone else’s outsides (I searched all over the internet for where I heard that phrase originally. It might have been Linchpin and it might have been Hugh McLeod).

And I realized as she was talking about wishing that she woke up earlier, and wishing that she could stick to a writing schedule that would keep her ahead on her blog posts… I realized that the key to all of those things is just to do them. The key to will power is just to do the things that you say you’re going to do, when you’re going to do them, even if the only person who knows about it is you.

To read the rest of the series:

Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Day 5

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

