Skip to content

An Exercise in Will Power: Day 7

April 8, 2010

My plan hit a couple of snags on this the last day. A big snag last night and a small snag this morning.

Yesterday was my husband’s day off, which is normally fine, because I’m usually pretty good at ignoring him when there’s work to be done. Unfortunately, yesterday was a day he had off after having been out of town for five days, so I was more distracted by him than usual. He keeps a later schedule than I do, and so when I was thinking it was time for bed at 11 pm, he said, “Hey, let’s watch the Daily Show.” After six days, my will power has strengthened, but it’s not that good. Not yet.

And after the Daily Show was the Colbert Report, and while I was brushing my teeth I got sucked into a surprisingly funny episode of South Park (which I normally dislike). I didn’t get to bed until 12:30 and wasn’t asleep until one.

That’s happened before, and I managed to wake up okay, but this time was apparently one time too many. I heard my alarm at 7 am, and had one of those dreams where in the dream I’ve woken up, and gotten out of bed, but in reality I haven’t? Those dreams suck. Actually that’s not true. I’ve noticed that often times those dreams end up leading you to something you’re worried about, and that something doesn’t always go the way you hope it will. In fact, it often goes all of the ways you don’t hope it will. Like you’re trying to catch a plane to somewhere far away, but in order to catch it you first have to catch a train, and to catch the train you have to get from the school to the train station, but you don’t have a bus pass or a car and it’s too far to walk. And to top it all off, you’re not sure where your wallet or your bag went. I hate dreams like that.

In any case, I woke up at 8 am instead of 7, which was fine, except I really would have liked a nearly perfect track record. But oh well, such is life.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

