Skip to content

The most beautiful thing you saw today

April 19, 2010

Last night, I came home and found a message from my cousin waiting for me in G-chat.

She was pissed off and frustrated. She’d been working for several hours to balance her checkbook, and it just wasn’t working. When I responded she was excited that I had returned so she could have something else to think about that what she was working on.

Trying to come up with something to talk about that would take her mind off of her frustrating project, I asked her, “What was the most beautiful thing you saw today?”

She didn’t respond for several minutes, and I knew she was thinking. Finally she replied with something she had seen that morning, and it was clear that it had really struck her from the way she described it.

And then she paused for a moment and said “… Thanks.” She felt much better just having though of that moment, and the really cool thing? It made me happier, too, and I wasn’t even having a bad day.

So this is my challenge to you, on this Monday morning. If you ever find that you’re having a difficult day, stop for a moment, take a deep breath, and think of the most beautiful thing that you saw that day. A sunrise, or a bluebird in a newly green tree, or a random act of kindness that you experienced or witnessed.

If you can’t think of anything for yourself (I know it’s hard when you’re having a bad day), find someone else to ask. If they put any thought into it at all, odds are good that, as you imagine the scene they describe, it’ll give you goosebumps and fill you with a sense of peace, or possibly giddy joy. And I challenge you maintain your grump in the face of that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

