Skip to content

Today is a RESET kind of day

April 23, 2010

Some days it just doesn’t pay to get out of bed

This day started out poorly and just went down hill from there.

I woke up at 7:00, right when my alarm went off and got out of bed. At that point I thought I was doing fine, so I went in to get coffee and sit down at my computer to consider what I had to do today. I knew what projects I had to work on, but I couldn’t seem to get my mind in gear. I sat there, staring at my computer, thinking “I should do something,” and nothing was happening.

I moved over to the couch with my computer and my coffee, and decided to try to write the post that I promised everyone today about The Anti-Resume Experiment. 20 minutes later I had nothing, and so I decided to close my eyes for a minute and clear my head. I set the alarm on my phone for 30 minutes, and lay down.

I woke up three hours later, cold coffee on the end table by my head and a puppy curled up on my feet. Apparently I had completely missed the alarm.

Now the post was late (although if I get it done before midnight, I’ll still technically have fulfilled my promise), I still hadn’t accomplished anything, and it was almost time for lunch. Instead of lunch I got some more coffee and sat down again at my desk to do something useful. I decided to call my mom to see if she could look at something for me and give me her opinion on it. I sent it to her via email while we chatted, but ten minutes later she still hadn’t received it. I sent it to her again, and also to my step-dad, but no luck. I don’t know if the screw-up was on my end (it didn’t look like it), or her end (possible, but I don’t know how we’d tell). In any case, we weren’t going to get anywhere with it, so I hung up to let her get on with her day, and went looking for something else I might be able to accomplish.

I decided to figure out how much it was going to cost us to get our windshield repaired (huge crack in it) since our deductible on such expenses is $500. I pulled out the files and started going through them when there was a huge crash in the other room. I jumped, spilled my coffee all over my desk (thankfully missing my laptop), and swore vociferously. Putting my laptop up out of the range of the slowly spreading coffee, I ran out in the living room to find that the puppy had knocked over one of my plants.

40 minutes later, the coffee was cleaned up, the dirt and broken pottery were cleaned up, the plant was in a make-shift planter in the garage, and I started writing this post.

Hitting the RESET button

Following the advice of my brilliant Aunt, I am going to hit “Reset” on this day. I’m going to take a shower, change clothes and eat breakfast for lunch. The “new” day can hardly be worse than the current one. I mean, it’s possible, but I prefer to be hopeful and optimistic.

Hopefully, the next time you hear from me, it will be when I tell about all of the places I’m going to send Anti-Resumes over the coming weeks.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2010 4:17 pm

    At least it was somewhat amiable. I think I may be abusive to my alarm clock. It screams in the morning and I hit it. This happens about twenty times – 100 times per week, 5200 per year. Please don’t call the police.

    D

    • April 23, 2010 4:23 pm

      Sounds like my husband. He and his alarm clock have a very abusive relationship. The police haven’t been called yet, but there have been a few close calls. ^_^

Leave a Reply

