Skip to content

An Exercise in Willpower: Level 3

April 26, 2010

Today is the start of my exercise in willpower series, level 3. If you’ve been following along, you might remember that today is the day I am supposed to start adding physical exercise to my morning routine.

Level 1: Wake up at 7 am, M-F, and 8 am, Sa-Sn

Level 2: In bed by 11 pm (with lights out at 11:30 pm), Su-Th, F-Sa it changes to 12 am, 12:30 am, respectively.

Level 3: Do five minutes of stretching and fifteen minutes of pilates right after I wake up.


Well, I did it. Kind of. I (foolishly) had wine last night. A glass with dinner and a glass after. Alcohol and I don’t play as nicely as they could (I’m a cheap date), and so while I wasn’t feeling buzzed after that amount of alcohol, I did have enough in my system to mess up my sleep more than I would like. And, because my willpower is weak when it comes to spending time with my husband, I was up until midnight doing so.

Between the wine and the going to bed and hour past my bedtime, I woke up 30 minutes late and a little groggy. Stupid wine. Also, my cell phone had randomly shut itself off, which meant one of my alarms didn’t go off. I’m less concerned about the alarm not going off than I am about the fact that my cell phone randomly shut itself off. I mean, it wasn’t even low on battery. What gives?

But in any case, I got up, I did my workout. It was more refreshing than I thought it would be, and did, in fact, wake me up. That’s the first time I’ve had that experience with a morning workout. In the past I’ve always still felt a little sluggish and sleepy.

I rewarded myself with coffee, because I didn’t want to do the workout in the first place, and so I figured some sort of reward for having done it would be good. But it would have to be something like coffee, that I would have had anyway, so I can eventually remove the reward and not remove the motivation for doing the activity.

I think I’m going to add an addendum to Level 3. I think I’m going to add walking around the block in the afternoon to the mix. I know I said I was going to add incremental change, and do things one step at a time, but the workout this morning was so refreshing, and I always hit that slump around 2:30. If I took a brisk walk around the block, maybe that would help.

I guess we’ll see.

I’m going to go back to posting daily about my progress since exercise is the thing that I’ve previously had so much trouble maintaining. My goal is to start a post in the morning after I’ve done my morning work, and the post it at 3:30, after I’ve done my afternoon walk.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Julia permalink
    April 26, 2010 10:28 am

    Re: cell phone shutting off. It could possibly be that the alarm did go off on it and still half asleep you shut off the cell instead of just turning it off. I’ve been known to do that when my motor functions are ahead of my mental ones 🙂

  2. April 26, 2010 10:31 am

    If I hadn’t been having trouble with the phone shutting off completely randomly during the day, when I wasn’t asleep and not wanting to wake up, I would be happy to believe your theory.

    What’s more likely is that my phone is old and crappy, and there’s something wrong with the battery. 😦

    Means I probably will have to get a new phone sooner or later.

Trackbacks

  1. Exercise in Willpower – Level 3 Update « Megan Must Muse

Leave a Reply

